Judging underway of Short Stories

The stories are in and the judges are going through the close to 200 entries in the annual 2015 Samoa Observer Tusitala Short Story competition.
“By mid the third week of July, our judges will have selected the winners of the different sections and after those winners have been notified, a prizegiving ceremony will be held in Apia,” said Organising Committee member, Marj Moore.
Launched at the Tanoa Tusitala Hotel on April 17, the regional competition called on Pacific writers for stories penned in English or Samoan, to be submitted by the deadline of June 01.
Moore said they were delighted with the response to the inaugural competition.
“We knew there were writers with wonderful stories to tell so this competition, initiated by Editor in Chief, Savea Sano Malifa and Muliagatele Jean Malifa, is to encourage and promote literacy in our Pacific region.”
Advertising about the competition was largely done through the Tusitala Competition website, emails to tertiary institutions and radio, print, broadcasting and TV media.
Moore said there had been a lot of excitement and support for the competition from Pacific organizations, the community and the business sector.
“The popular Pacific show, ‘Tagata Pasifika’ which is broadcast out to the Pacific interviewed Savea and discussed this initiative on their programme.”
Sponsorship for the competition has been provided by the New Zealand High Commission, the Tanoa Tusitala Hotel, Samoa Stationery and Books, Samoa Commercial Bank, Digicel, Westpac, ANZ, Ah Liki Construction, SMI Hardware, Samoa Spare Parts, Ace Hardware, Signs Studio and Apia Bottling.
As well as entries from Australia, New Zealand, Moore said the Committee had received entries from Pacific island nations such as Hawaii, Papua New Guinea, Fiji, American Samoa, the Cook Islands, Tonga and Niue.
Writers over the age of 18 entered from the country where they are currently residing – Australia and New Zealand, other Pacific Islands
or Samoa.
From the winners of these three regions, overall English and Samoan winners will be chosen.